ILO Logo

Equity Insurance Agency

 
Region: Afrique
Sous-thèmes: Partenariats, Institutions financières, Développement de produit, Vie
 

Description du projet

Equity Insurance Agency Limited dispose d’un agrément pour offrir à la fois des produits vie et non-vie. Il s'agit d'une filiale à part entière de Equity Bank (propriétaire à 100 %). Cette institution a été créée dans le but de répondre aux besoins d'assurance des Kenyans des différentes couches socio-économiques. Grâce à des partenariats avec des compagnies d'assurance réputées dans le secteur, Equity Insurance Agency offre une gamme complète de produits et de services d'assurance innovants via un modèle de bancassurance.

 

Activities Overview

Equity Bank et Equity Insurance Agency prévoient d’élargir leur portefeuille d'assurances en Afrique de l'Est et en Afrique centrale. Le projet vise à fournir des produits et services solides et inclusifs d’Equity Insurance Agency qui améliorent la productivité des micro, petites et moyennes entreprises (MPME) de toute taille et permettent aux entrepreneurs d'Afrique de l'Est et d’Afrique centrale de saisir des opportunités plus risquées.

Le projet permettra de segmenter les PME clientes d'Equity Bank afin d'évaluer leurs risques et de concevoir des solutions d'assurance combinées qui seront offertes par les agences bancaires d'Equity (200) et par un vaste réseau d'agents à faible coût (23 000). Outre un accompagnement sur les produits destinés aux MPME, le Programme Impact Insurance appuiera également l’expansion d’Equity Insurance Agency dans d'autres pays.

Le Programme aidera également Equity Insurance Agency à développer une stratégie globale et à mettre en œuvre un processus de gestion du changement afin de renforcer sa capacité à servir le marché à faibles revenus avec des produits d’assurance utiles dans le futur.

 

Objectifs d’apprentissage

  • Comment concevoir des solutions d’assurance appropriées pour les MPME ? Quels sont les segments les plus susceptibles d’acheter de l’assurance ?
  • Comment atteindre rapidement une échelle significative ? Quel est le modèle de distribution le plus économique et efficace (banque/agent/canal mobile, formation, incitations, processus) ?
  • Comment les technologies numériques peuvent-elles être utilisées pour faciliter le parcours du client et rendre les opérations plus efficientes ?
  • Quelles sont les options les plus efficientes pour rendre la solution d’assurance plus tangible ? Peut-elle être combinée à d’autres services ?
  • Quelle est la structure la plus appropriée pour EIA ?

Latest Updates

Le projet devrait débuter au 4e trimestre de l’année 2016.

Date of last update:  Septembre 2016

ILO Logo

Insurance for MSMEs -- Equity Insurance Agency

 
Region: Africa
Sub Topics: Financial institutions, Product development, Partnerships, Life, Financial institutions
 

Organizational Overview

Equity Insurance Agency Limited is licensed to offer both life and non-life business.  It is a fully fledged subsidiary (100% owned) of Equity Bank. The Agency was established with the objective of addressing the insurance needs of Kenyans across the wide economic strata. Through partnerships with reputable insurance companies in the industry, the Agency offers a full banquet of innovative insurance products and services using Bancassurance model. 

 

Project Description

Equity Insurance Agency Limited is licensed to offer both life and non-life business.  It is a fully fledged subsidiary (100% owned) of Equity Bank. The Agency was established with the objective of addressing the insurance needs of Kenyans across the wide economic strata. Through partnerships with reputable insurance companies in the industry, the Agency offers a full banquet of innovative insurance products and services using Bancassurance model. 

 

Activities Overview

Equity Bank and Equity Insurance Agency plan to expand their insurance portfolio in East and Central Africa. The project aims to provide strong and inclusive Equity Insurance Agency products and services that boosts the productivity of Micro, Small, and Medium Enterprises- MSMEs of all sizes by enabling East and Central Africa entrepreneurs to pursue higher risk opportunities.

The project will segment Equity Bank’s SME clients to assess their risks and design bundled insurance solutions that will be delivered through Equity’s bank branches (200) and extensive network of low-cost agents (23,000). In addition to working on the MSME-products, the Facility will also support Equity Insurance Agency’s expansion into other countries.

The Facility will also support Equity Insurance Agency to form an overall strategy and work through a change management process to better equip it to serve the low-income market with valuable insurance products in the future.

 

Learning Agenda

  • How to design appropriate insurance solutions for MSMEs? Which segments are most likely to take-up insurance?
  • How to reach scale quickly? What is the most cost-effective distribution model (bank/agent/mobile channel, training, incentives, processes)?
  • How digital technology can be used to facilitate customer journey and make operations more efficient?
  • What are the most efficient options to make the solution more tangible? Can it be bundled with other services?
  • What is the most appropriate structure for EIA?

Latest Updates

The project is expected to begin in 2016 Q4.

Date of last update:  September 2016